United States, National Holidays

In the United States, national holidays commemorate significant events, people, or ideals that have shaped the nation’s history and identity. Here is a list of some of the most widely recognized national holidays in the U.S.:

  1. New Year’s Day (January 1st) – Celebrates the beginning of the new year according to the Gregorian calendar.
  2. Martin Luther King Jr. Day (Third Monday in January) – Honors the civil rights leader, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and his contributions to the civil rights movement.
  3. Presidents’ Day (Third Monday in February) – Originally established to honor George Washington’s birthday, it now also recognizes the contributions of all U.S. presidents.
  4. Memorial Day (Last Monday in May) – Honors the men and women who have died while serving in the U.S. military.
  5. Independence Day (July 4th) – Celebrates the adoption of the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776, declaring independence from Great Britain.
  6. Labor Day (the First Monday in September) recognizes the contributions of American workers and the labor movement.
  7. Columbus Day (Second Monday in October) – Commemorates Christopher Columbus’s arrival in the Americas in 1492.
  8. Veterans Day (November 11th) – Honors military veterans who have served in the United States Armed Forces.
  9. Thanksgiving Day (Fourth Thursday in November) – A day of giving thanks for the past year’s blessings, often celebrated with a traditional meal.
  10. Christmas Day (December 25th) celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ, which is observed by Christians and non-Christians alike as a cultural and religious holiday.

These are the federal holidays recognized nationwide, but individual states may also observe additional holidays or variations of these holidays. Some holidays, such as Thanksgiving and Christmas, are widely celebrated nationwide regardless of religious affiliation.